The annual New Zealand Security Awards will be conducted online and live streamed this year due to Covid-19 restrictions. The event will be held on 7th August 2020, from 5 to 7 pm, and awards will be couriered to winners after the event.

The prestigious annual security awards is organised and hosted by the New Zealand Security Association and recognises skills, services, product/service innovations, achievements and more within the security industry in New Zealand.

The association is encouraging people in the industry to send through videos in appreciation of their colleagues and the industry with spoken tributes, applause, dances and more. The best videos will be selected by the association and played during the event.

This year’s judging panel consists of:

  • Nick Dynon (DefSec Media)
  • Ngaire Kelaher (ASIS New Zealand)
  • David Tomoana (ANZ Bank)
  • Gary Morrison (NZSA)

Award Categories

Guarding Sector Trainee of the Year

Electronic Trainee of the Year

Security Trainer or Workplace Assessor of the Year

Michael Pepper Award for Outstanding Security Training Initiative

Outstanding Skills for Industry Employee of the Year

Security Consultant of the Year

Security Integrator of the Year

Design and Support Electronic Sector Professional of the Year

Install and Service Electronic Sector (SME) Technician of the Year

Install and Service Electronic Sector (Corporate) Technician of the Year

Security Officer of the Year

Patrol Officer of the Year

Communication Centre Operator of the Year

Cash Services Professional of the Year

Security Supervisor/Operations Manager of the Year

Security Administrator of the Year

Outstanding Staff Retention/Staff Development Programme

Outstanding New Product or Service of the Year

Customer Champion of the Year

Visionary Leadership Award

The nominations were all registered before 10th July, and no new applications are being accepted by NZSA.

Leading security organisations like ADT Security, Advanced Security Group, Chubb Security are likely to be part of the event.